New Jacket

What a difference a week makes.  Last week, I was pedalling in the Florida sunshine in shorts and a jersey.  This week, I was in Northern Virginia, looking at the morning frost on the grass.  Out came the wool socks, leggings, winter gloves, skull cap, and a new addition to my wardrobe – a cycling jacket.

As I enter my third winter of cycling, I figured it was time to break down and buy a jacket specific to the job.  I found a reasonably priced garment on Nashbar a few weeks ago and took the plunge.  The jacket is like most any other one except this has the traditional three pockets in the back which make for easier retrieval of items.  The waist is cut a little higher than normal so it doesn’t interfere with the legs while pedalling, and the cut is a little closer to the body so there is less air drag.

Ta Da!

The jacket’s debut was a roaring success and the ride was pleasant, if cool.  Temperatures made it into the mid-40s by the end of things and I even passed several hardy cyclists as I returned home on Rte 234.  The country roads between Aden Road and Bristow Road were as pleasant as always.  The above pic was taken on Parkgate Drive through the clever use of a 10-second timer on a camera resting on a “For Sale” sign.  Sadly, the autofocus was slightly off.

I was curious to see if there would be any election signs still standing 11 days after the event.  Just as I was beginning to believe they all were retrieved, I spied this handsome specimen near Bristow (Mile 16).

This being a rural area, I was not surprised to find a sign supporting the Republicans.  Of note, only Mr. Wittman won his election.

Having tested my jacket and finding an election sign, my objectives were complete and I turned for home.  I’ll leave you with a picture of Flory Road, which captures the landscape I pedaled through rather well.

12 thoughts on “New Jacket

  1. Of all my winter gear, my favorite is the jacket. Warmers and base layers help, but the jacket really takes the edge off. Looks like a nice ride for you, not such a pleasant ride for Messiuers Allen et Romney.

    • I’ve got plenty of non-cycling jackets but they all have various problems when used on a bike, not the least of which is a lack of secure pockets. I either stow things in a jersey underneath the jacket or put them in the pockets designed to warm my hands and hope they don’t fall out while riding. The snug fit is also welcome – you can definitely feel the drag on a loose fitting jacket.

  2. Hi Steve,

    I hate being cold! And I agree about jackets … I love my jacket, which is also good for rain. If you want to be warmer when it’s colder, you might want to look at windbreaker base layers. Very pricey, but gore, craft, probably others make good ones, very helpful in the cold.

    The sun is out and soon so am I. Now if only we see 40F today..

    Your roads look like they are lovely cycling.

    • I’m slowly adding to my wardrobe, Suze. I’ve got several baselayers which are also good for jogging. I have a nice cycling vest but I’m short on rain gear or light jackets. If only there was a holiday where I could ask for things like this as some sort of present…

  3. Pingback: There’s a Tool for That | The Vicious Cycle

    • All is well, Cherri. Not much going on up this way so I haven’t had much to write about. The annual Christmas Light Hunt should take place this week, so stay tuned!

  4. Steve: We ought to get together. Yesterday I rode from out from Bristow to Nokesville, down Parkgate to Fleetwood, Fleetwood to Aden and home again. I should also point out that my wife bought me a bright orange jacket for my birthday. We would match, though we might risk getting shot by Dick Cheney….

    • Very nice! I’ve actually been on rides with the sound of gunfire off in the distance. Very disconcerting. Fortunately, those rides have been a few miles south of your stomping ground. I haven’t heard much gun play near Nokesville and Bristow!

Leave a Reply

