A Little Humor & Motivation

It’s been a slow week, with long work days keeping me out of the saddle.  I’ve contented myself to reviewing my cycling books, which tell me I do just about everything wrong when it comes to technique, training, and nutrition.  But more on that another time.  For now, I will  leave you with some humor and some motivation.

The humor comes via this picture that is making its way across the cycling blogosphere, reportedly painted by a Peter Drew of Adelaide, Australia.  I can personally vouch for the accuracy of the statement!

 

And the motivation comes from Cycling writer Scott Martin, who accurately (to me, at least) describes a key aspect of cycling:

“To be a cyclist is to be a student of pain….at cycling’s core lies pain, hard and bitter as the pit inside a juicy peach. It doesn’t matter if you’re sprinting for an Olympic medal, a town sign, a trailhead, or the rest stop with the homemade brownies. If you never confront pain, you’re missing the essence of the sport. Without pain, there’s no adversity. Without adversity, no challenge. Without challenge, no improvement. No improvement, no sense of accomplishment and no deep-down joy. Might as well be playing Tiddly-Winks.”

2 thoughts on “A Little Humor & Motivation

Leave a Reply

