$5 Milkshake

After a day trip to Gettysburg (no cycling – just driving and stomping about on foot, I’m afraid), I returned home in time to take a short spin on a 14.7 mile route I use for sprint work.  I’m still getting a feel for the new bike and my fitness is still lagging a bit after the three-week hiatus, but I shattered my personal best for average speed.  I managed a pace of 18 mph, beating my previous PBR of 16.8.  That’s a nice leap and it made me quite happy.

So far, I have no issues with the bike.  It’s handling great and the acceleration is impressive.  If I ever get in shape, I suspect the top speed will be equally impressive.  Brakes, shifters, and saddle are working great with no issues.

It’s a nice bike.

All of this reminds me of the scene in Pulp Fiction, where Uma Thurman’s character orders a $5 milkshake at a restaurant.  John Travolta’s character was surprised that a milkshake could cost so much money (remember, this was 1994).  He asks Uma if this is just a simple milkshake with milk and ice cream and Uma tells him it is.  There isn’t even any bourbon in it!  When the milkshake arrives, Travolta asks to have a taste, saying “I’ve got to find out what a $5 milkshake tastes like.”  He takes a sip and says, “Damn!  That’s a f’in good milkshake!  I don’t know if it’s worth five dollars, but it’s pretty f’in good!”  Uma smiles and says, “Told you!”

That’s where I’m at right now with my bike.  I’ve taken a figurative sip and my conclusion is much like Travolta’s.  I don’t know if it’s worth the money I paid for it, but damn it’s a pretty good bike!

Tomorrow, the family is heading into DC for a bicycle ride.  I’ll be bringing Old Ironsides with me as it will be easier to negotiate the multiple obstacles along the Tidal Basin and the Mall while also staying with my wife and son.  This is somewhat comforting to me as it helps me convince myself that I still have a use for the hybrid and the money spent on that bike wasn’t wasted.  Hopefully I’ll get some good pics to share.

3 thoughts on “$5 Milkshake

Leave a Reply

