Cycling Past Royalty

 

Cathy in Newport, RI, writes “You must try my favorite energy bar. It is the marathon energy bar, snickers flavor. I’m not going to sell it as nutritionally superior, but at 10g protein, 220 cal it is by far the best tasting!”

I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “C’mon, Steve, we all know there isn’t a ‘Cathy in Newport, RI.’  You’ve done that bit before.  It wasn’t funny then and it isn’t funny now.”  Fine.  Go ahead and think that, if you want to.  Except that you’re wrong – there IS a Cathy in Newport, RI, and she DID write me.  So there!

I tried Cathy’s suggestion and bought a Marathon energy bar (Powered by Snickers).  I found the Marathon Bars but I couldn’t find one that was Snickers flavored.  The choices were:  Chewy Chocolatey Peanut, Chewy Peanut Butter, Crunchy Dark Chocolate, Crunch Honey & Toasted Almond, and Crunch Mult-Grain.  Cathy, if you’re out there, I think I need some help figuring out exactly what bar you’re talking about.  I grabbed a Crunch Dark Chocolate and threw it in my jersey pocket, along with a Vanilla-Crisp Power Bar. 

I broke out the Marathon Bar at the one-hour point in the ride.  I’m glad I didn’t wait any longer because the 80-degree heat was working its magic on the chocolatey goodness inside the bar wrapper.  It held up pretty well, all things considered, and it tasted quite good.  However, I’m not sure this product was designed for consumption during the middle of an activity, especially if the activity involves storing the bar against a cyclist’s back in 80-degree heat for an hour.

Thus concludes my in-depth review of the Marathon energy bar.  Now I bet you’re wondering what this has to do with the title of this post.  The answer is absolutely nothing.  However, it does adequately describe the ride’s turnaround point on Reid Road, west of Nokesville. 

I traveled west of Route 28 for the first time today.  I nosed around Fitzwater Road and took a left onto Reid Road.  I was in the middle of farm country and enjoyed views such as this:

The road was a rough form of asphalt and I was mildly concerned how well the Trek would hold up under these conditions.  It came through with flying colors.  Sadly, the asphalt eventually gave out and the road turned to gravel.  I wasn’t prepared to take that on, so I turned around.  But not before spying this interesting address:

I had no idea we had royalty in western Prince William County.  Very nice!

That about sums up today’s ride: a good (if messy) energy bar and a foray into new roads that took me past royalty.  All in all, a good day.

Oh yes.  Here is today’s Virginia Historical Marker, which can be found on Aden Road, about one mile north of the Occoquan River.  People of Alexandria, when you look down your noses at the hicks in Prince William County, know that your Founding Father had a direct connection to us bumpkins!

click for details

One thought on “Cycling Past Royalty

  1. I bought some Probar’s on clearance sale once and they were the most amazing, delicous thing ever. My wife got me hooked on the Cliff Bar White Choclate Macodamin Nut, its good!

Leave a Reply

