2010 Wrap Up: Part 3 (The Blog)

I bought a bike in March and pedaled about Prince William County, Virginia, taking pictures and amusing myself.  In May, I saw my buddy Joel had a blog on his kayaking hobby.   That looked interesting, so I decided to give it a try myself.  The result is this compendium of half-baked thoughts, damage/injury reports, and other trivia related to my cycling hobby.

It’s been a blast.  Really, it has!

Lord only knows what I am doing right and wrong with this site.  The number of visits continues to grow, so I like to think it is amusing to somebody out there.  I’ve mentioned elsewhere that I greatly appreciate your continued interest and the thoughtful comments you post here.  For those of you who have blogs of your own, know that they are a great resource for me and are also quite entertaining!  For those of you who have yet to click on the blogs in my blog roll, I encourage you to do so – I think you’ll be glad you did.  In no particular order, here are some stats you may find to be not entirely boring:

Most Popular Posts:

1. Back In The Saddle Again

2. Impressions of the Canberra Cycling Life

3. Widewater Park

4. Tour de Mount Vernon

5. The Great Pumpkin Ride

My Favorite Posts

1. An Open Letter To The Walker I Scared Last Night

2. My New Toy – Part I

3. Lost In Fauquier County

4. The Dope I Passed This Morning

5.  My Dork Disk

Most Frequently Clicked Pictures

1. The Specialized Crosstrail

2. The Trek 2.1

3. Canberra Cyclist

4. Self-Portrait On A Stone Wall

5. The Trek 2.1 (On Day 1)

Readership By Month: Visits have been pleasantly increasing each month, with a large increase in November.  Lesson Learned:  if you want to increase readership, write about Canberra!

Where You Live:  In October, I happened across the Clustrmaps utility which I now keep in the top right corner of the blog.  It’s been quite interesting to see where folks are checking in from.  The variety was quite a surprise to me!  The English-speaking countries were somewhat expected, but I never would have guessed I would have visitors from such exotic locales as Taiwan, Peru, and Pakistan.  Africa, I must inform you that you are not pulling your weight.  Morocco and Egypt are keeping you from complete embarrassment.  Russia continues to disappoint.

And that sums up my gala three-part 2010 Year-In-Review.  I believe I shall refer to this as “The Year I Began.”  Hopefully, I will dub 2011, “The Year I Got Serious.”  With any luck, 2012 will be known as “The Year I Went Crazy,” but lets take care of one year at a time!

2 thoughts on “2010 Wrap Up: Part 3 (The Blog)

  1. I’ve enjoyed reading you’re blog since I spotted it linking to mine. Has somone who has been into this for awhile you’ve given me some perspective and a fresh look. Thanks for keeping up the great work on the blog. Look forward to seeing you become an uber elite cyclist in 2011!

Leave a Reply

