Lonesome Road

Lonesome Road

There are entirely too many dirt roads in my part of the world.  There are over five million people living in the Washington Metropolitan Area and one would think that most highways and byways would be paved.  That is certainly not the case in the area southwest of Manassas near Nokesville.  I’ve had several mishaps on dirt roads and roads that simply disappeared. Today, I toured another dirt tract: Lonesome Road.

click for details

I probably shouldn’t have gone down this road.  I’d forgotten to replace my saddle bag after washing my bike and was without a spare inner tube.  A flat here would mean a call home for a pickup and I was 25 miles away.  I’ve had bad luck with my Crosstrail on gravel roads, but I was on my Trek and this road was mostly dirt and seemed to be smoother.  I’d been staring at this road for weeks on MapMyRide.Com and this route was specifically chosen so I could travel down it.  So I threw caution to the wind and gave it a shot. 

The Creek

I am pleased to report I completed the two-mile stretch without incident.  Lonesome Road is perhaps the most aptly named road in the county.  If you’re looking for a quiet place nestled amongst dairy farms, this is the place for you.  There is a pleasant creek you can enjoy at the midway point.  Other than that, there isn’t much to catch the eye.

Having made it to a paved road north of Nokesville, I turned south toward that town and made it home in very good shape.  This was my longest ride of the year to date and I believe I am ready for my first organized ride in three weeks – the 59 mile Vasaloppet.

Heading up from the creek

4 thoughts on “Lonesome Road

  1. Winter’s almost over Steve!!!! Great mileage, and love the photos.
    You had me worried with your intro. Was sure you were going to flat. Have a glorious week and hope you get to log lots of miles each day.

    • The dramatic tension was pretty intense, wasn’t it? 🙂 The great irony of my bicycle purchases is that I avoided a road bike because I thought a hybrid would be more durable when the occasional off-road situation presented itself. That has not been the case for me, in practice. Granted, I’m not doing anything dramatic with my Trek, but it has handled the occasional dirt path just fine (knock on wood).

  2. I am very impressed by the small difference between your moving time and your elapsed time. Do you snack while on the move? I’m too wobbly to do that in comfort. It certainly looks like good cycling country in spite of the dirt road.

    • Thanks, Tom. I’ve been trying to extend my distances between rest stops and completed yesterday’s ride with only a short (one or two minute) break for photos. The rest of my stoppage time was spent waiting at traffic lights. I have managed to learn how to eat while riding and I time my Gatorade intake so I get a steady stream of calories. Yesterday, I used up the last of my Clif Bars and now I need to make a resupply run!

Leave a Reply

