Windy Day

Today was the warmest day of the year so far.  It was also one of the windiest days.  But when the temperatures soar into the mid-60s, it is improper to complain about the wind, whatever its speed.  So I won’t complain.  I’ll just simply note that I experienced the unique sensation of having my bike almost blown out from under me by a crosswind, and I’ll leave it at that.

The warm weather let me shed several layers of winter wear.  I wasn’t wearing a skull cap, plastic wrap on my feet, a second pair of socks, feet warmers, arctic gloves, or even a couple of fleece jackets.  However, what I did have on was my brand new cycling vest which arrived in today’s post from the good people at Nashbar.

The vest is optic yellow, which makes me look uncomfortably like a giant tennis ball as I pedal down the road.  Much of winter cycling apparel features bright colors like this on the premise that cyclists are hard to see in dismal weather.  I can’t argue with the theory and if you can’t see me in this outfit then you probably shouldn’t be driving a car.  You should be seeing an optomitrist for your debilitating blindness.  The color reminds me of the VS-17 panels we used to put on our Army vehicles to let friendly aircraft know that they shouldn’t be firing at us.  I suspect that I can be tracked from outer space while wearing this vest.

It’s bright, is what I’m trying to say.

The vest worked fine and I was able to log a quick 15 miles in some very tough winds.  It was nice to ride with a few less layers.  Someday, it will be hot and my thoughts will turn toward putting ice in my bottles and sun block on my arms and legs.  Until then, I’ll be happy with a sunny and windy Spring-like day.

8 thoughts on “Windy Day

    • Seriously, I thought it might take the bike out from under me.

      I’ve been needing a vest for some time and finally found a good deal at the very site you first mentioned to me!

  1. You are so Phred! It’s makes you look like a Leggo dude;0D
    Mine is orange, leftover from the Scout Jamboree at Fort AP Hill and says, “Jamboree” on the back. How’s that for “Betty” (female version of Phred)?

Leave a Reply

