Cycling And Philosophy

As I pedal about my corner of the globe, I spend a fair amount of time trying to not get hurt.  One way to not get hurt is to avoid obstacles in the road such as potholes, broken glass, drunken sailors, etc…  But here’s the thing about riding a bike – what you look at you naturally steer your bike toward.  Try it sometime; it’s kinda eery.  More than once I have noticed a rock and thought, “I don’t want to hit that” and then actually ran over the stupid thing as I stared at it.  Very frustrating.

So in order to avoid obstacles in the road, the key is to not look at them.  Focus instead on the patch of road that is safe and the odds of your bike and its rider getting past the obstacle unscathed increase significantly. 

The other day, I got to ruminating whether this simple technique has practical applications in everyday  life.  Perhaps bikes aren’t the only thing that naturally steer toward obstacles.  Perhaps people do this as well as they live their lives.  Maybe by fixating/stressing over an obstacle in our life, we actually increase the likelihood that we’ll encounter it and suffer its ill effects.  Just like a cyclist, if we note the obstacle but then focus on the clear path around it, perhaps our life’s journey will be smoother for it.

Just a thought.  We will now return to my normal babblings about things of no consequence.

12 thoughts on “Cycling And Philosophy

  1. This actually makes me thing of a favorite scripture verse of mine. I’ll share it, if you don’t mind;0D
    Phl 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is [fn] lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, [fn] dwell on these things.

  2. I remember well when I first started MTBing back in the day, we soon discovered that if you don’t want to ride into something, don’t look at it! Trees, ditches, farm gates were all soon studiously ignored!

  3. Wise words. I remember a low-cut tree stump bang in the centre of the forest trail. Hypnotically attracted to it, I just jinked around it at the last minute. Course, the guy on my wheel didn’t react in time. Ahem. And he claimed it was my fault!! 🙂

  4. For me too it was a lesson soon learned when I was cross country MTB racing on the technical bits through trees and rocks..

  5. love the storm grate, positioned just so you can plant your front wheel in it and go flying! I catch your drift, but that’s something to definitely look at! 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Year In Review: Part 3 (The Blog) | There And Back Again

  7. Pingback: Cycling And Philsophy, Part 2 | There And Back Again

Leave a Reply

