Technology

Here’s a fun test: ask yourself this question – did you know that Steve has problems with technology?  If you answered yes, then congratulations – you have known me for more than ten minutes.  I’m always finding new and exciting ways to be confounded by technologies that most eight year olds can handle with ease.  What follows is today’s example.

There I was, trying to squeeze in a fast ride during a break in my bathroom remodeling project.  I was hoping to challenge my personal best time in a 16.8 mile circuit I like to ride and things were looking promising despite a slight headwind.  At Mile 6, my cell phone rang.

Sigh.

I tried to keep pedaling while digging it out of my zippered back pocket.  I was pleased to be able to do this.  Then I attempted to do the following while still pedaling:

   a.  Unlock my phone.

   b.  Determine who called me.

   c.  Call them back.

After a couple of attempts, I got my gloved fingers to unlock the phone.  I then saw that the call came from my home.  It was probably my wife.  I then tried to call her back.  For some odd reason, I saw that my cell phone called my Mom’s phone.  I didn’t want to call my Mom, so I hung up and tried again.  This time my wife picked up the phone.  I asked her what she wanted and she said she didn’t call me.  I shrugged (figuratively, of course.  Shrugging while cycling at near your max heart rate while holding a phone wouldn’t be prudent) and stowed my phone away.

Ten minutes later, my phone rang again.  Damnit!  This time I got to it before it went to voicemail.  It was my wife.  She wanted to know if I fed the dog before I left.  I told her I did and then asked her why didn’t she ask me that when we spoke ten minutes earlier.  She said we hadn’t spoken earlier, but she did call earlier and I never answered.  She never got my return phone call.

?

After my ride, a quick Facebook chat session with Mom confirmed SHE was the lady I spoke to in the first call.  This is in spite of the fact I hung up my phone when I saw I was calling Mom and redialed my house.  My cell phone’s call record indicates I did precisely what I remember doing, yet the first conversaton was with my Mom.  Very strange, and yet very typical for me.  Just another oddity for the Steve Technology File.

By the way, I didn’t quite get my best time.  Two phone calls and a few poorly-timed stop lights will do that to you.  Still, I came within two minutes of my best and this was only the third time I’ve managed 18mph on a ride of any length.  I even had a five-mile stretch where I averaged 21mph (and that is a record for me).  All I need to do is string 12 of those five-mile times together this June and I’ll earn a shiny gold medal at the Crystal City Challenge.

Changing Subjects

In other news, I signed up for my next event – the Cap2Cap Ride on May 7th.  This will be my first-ever Century (100 miles).  It runs from Richmond to Williamsburg and back.  I picked the route because it promises to be very scenic, there’s lots of history there, and it should be fairly flat.  Last year’s ride was plagued by very high winds, so lets hope things are less breezy this year.

For your viewing pleasure, here’s a YouTube video of the Cap2Cap.  If you’re in the area and intend to ride in this, please let me know.  I’d love to meet you!

8 thoughts on “Technology

  1. Jealous! I want to do the Cap2Cap, and will have to wait until my return.
    Don’t forget to check out the Civil War Century, my history friend;0D

    • If you weren’t busy cycling across the continent, this would be a natural meetup for us, wouldn’t it? 🙂 Maybe next year. And I definitely have the Civil War Century in my plans. I expect it to be the highlite of my year!

  2. I keep my cell phone in a plastic bag, so there’s no way I’ll be able to answer it while riding.
    Good luck on the century ride. You have plenty of time to build endurance AND speed before it happens.

    • Getting phone calls while on rides is rare for me. I get very few calls to begin with and those who might call me know that phone calls on rides are a pain. The phone is more of an emergency device for me. Today was just “one of those days,” especially on the technical side.

      Thanks for the well wishes on the century. I’m looking forward to it!

  3. Good speed even if it wasn’t a pb. I went for a gentle pedal with my wife today and we averaged 9mph! As for answering a phone while on the move and wearing gloves, the mind boggles. I bet you were one of those kids who rode up and down with no hands. If I let go of one handlebar, I’m in big wobble country.

  4. I too took a break from the paint brushing today, and took a ride between coats of paint. The sun was too good to resist and the temperature wasnt bad, not quite shorts weather yet though..
    If you can get in a group in your ride you’ll have no problem maintaining those kind of speeds, its worth another 3 or 4 mph on your solo speeds and for about 66% of the effort.
    Hang on in there.. 🙂

    • Congratulations. Real Life can be an annoying distraction to cycling, can’t it? Usually, I am able to ignore it and just keep pedalling, but every so often things need tending to.

Leave a Reply

