Laps

I rode in circles today.  Let me tell you why.

It was gorgeous today and that meant I did everything possible to get in a ride after work.  On my way home, my wife called and asked me to pick up our youngest after his bowling practice at 7:00 PM.  Hmm… this called for a new strategy.

I decided to ride laps around my neighborhood.  There is a 1.7-mile loop that takes me over several small hills.  I could just keep going until it was time to leave for the alley.  It was a snap to change into summer cycling clothes – what would have taken me 15 minutes in January, I did in less than five minutes today.  I set off into a very brisk wind that somehow didn’t seem nearly as debilitating in 77 degrees as it would have been in 40-degree temps.  Strange. 

Ok, maybe not so strange, but the difference was striking nonetheless.

I only got 12 miles in, but I pushed it as hard as I could.  I was initially disappointed in my average pace of 16.2 mph, but when I stopped and considered the frequent slow downs for intersections (and the two cars that pulled out in front of me) and the numerous hills, I guess that wasn’t too bad.  The 800 feet of climbing is a rate about double of what I do on a normal jaunt through the country – about 6,700 feet of climbing for a century ride.  For me, that’s a good amount of hill climbing, especially at max effort.

I’ve never done lap training of any kind as I prefer my rides to have some sort of destination.  Having done the workout, I can’t say I’ll be repeating it anytime soon.  It was great to be able to knock out a very fast ride knowing I could break it off when it came time to pick up the kid.  Mechanical problems wouldn’t be an issue as I was no more than a 10 minute walk home at any point in the trip.  It was really convenient and a great workout, but I prefer setting out on adventures.

Tomorrow, it’s going to rain all day and get cold.  Well, it was good while it lasted!

4 thoughts on “Laps

  1. That is an excellent average speed on an “in town” route. The accelrations were great training and thats a very good amount of climbing. It would make a good route to repeat maybe once a month or so and see how you stack up and how you feel afterwards.

    My brother who used to be a much faster rider did almost exactly that kind of ride nearly every night for traiing. He’d spring from every stop. It really aggrivated me because a long ride for him was ten miles but he always seemed faster then me.

    • I hadn’t considered the impact of rapid accelerations, even though my body was providing me extremely clear feedback that they are quite demanding! I may find myself doing this route every once in awhile, if for no other reason than it is a fast way to get in some work.

    • I enjoy seeing things that I don’t normally get to see and I try to pick out a destination or stretch of road that I haven’t been on (or been on recently) to add some spice to the ride. But I must admit this was a great workout in a short duration – kinda like a sprint workout for runners.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

