Say It Ain’t So, Mr. O’Rourke!

My friend, Scott, brought this Wall Street Journal article by P.J. O’Rourke to my attention in the hopes it would raise my hackles.  Scott’s a good friend.  I now pass it along to all of you in the hopes you will think I’m your virtual friend.

Mr. O’Rourke is an award-winning author, known for his superb use of satire.  This is the only possible explanation for the drivel contained within this piece, which brings to mind the axim: it is better to be quiet and thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.

In other news, there are lots going on as the weather continues to improve: 

     – Cherri has officially started her cross-country tour.

     – I managed a 21-mile ride on a weeknight, swallowed my first bug of the year, and scared the bejeebers out of a nice lady who was struggling to pedal up a hill.  I really do try to alert these folks before I’m next to them.  Honest.

     – And finally, I saw yet another major car accident just outside my neighborhood.  Nobody appeared to be seriously hurt, but both cars were totaled.  The cars may be solving the traffic density problem all by themselves.

5 thoughts on “Say It Ain’t So, Mr. O’Rourke!

  1. Hi Steve,
    I couldn’t get the link to the article to work. Maybe it knows that I am a week-kneed foreign liberal and won’t let me look at it.

    Your cycle rides are much more exciting than mine.

    • Thanks for letting me know, Tom. The link should work now.

      As a rather staunch conservative, I find myself out of step with my party’s thinking on cycling policy. Conservatives laud small government, but advocate for millions of dollars to build ever bigger roadways. Also, they somehow believe that spending a fraction of that money on cycling infrastructure makes people more dependent on the government. I don’t get it.

      • Conservatives (politicians at any rate) laud small government but have a rather alarming blindspot when it come to big business. Maybe funding has a part to play in all this. Not funding for the projects but funding from big business to the politicians. We need cycle firms to start bribing politicians with the same gusto as the automobile companies. That’ll be the day.

  2. I got the first bug that I remember this year this morning as well. Seems like we must have had a hatch of something around here. I’ve encountered several swarms of gnats the last couple of days that are downright disgusting!

Leave a Reply

