There But For The Grace Of God Go I

I came upon an accident scene on my way home from work yesterday.  It was on the corner of Ox Road and Burke Lake Road.  There were two fire trucks, a police car, and an ambulance present, all with their lights flashing.  They had temporarily closed Burke Lake Road and I could see a few parked cars and people milling about on the side of the road. 

As I got closer to the intersection, I could see a bike – or what was left of one.  It was a road/touring bike with drop down handle bars.  The front wheel was off and bent at 90 degrees into an L shape.  The front fork was twisted in a very disturbing way.  I didn’t see the rider or notice the vehicle that caused the damage, but it was clearly a significant event.  I hope the rider is ok.

I hate crosswalks where mixed-use paths meet busy roads.  Drivers regularly fly up to the main road, hoping to merge with traffic.  They simply disregard the white stop line and do not look for anyone using the crosswalk.  This is what appears to have happened to this poor soul.  Maybe the cyclist was at fault.  Maybe he/she flew through the crosswalk and cut off a driver who had properly stopped and was accelerating to turn onto Ox Road.  Maybe, but I doubt it.

In other news, I continue to attempt to squeeze some evening rides in and wait for the glorious weekend when I can cycle in warm weather.  The forecast for Saturday is 1.5 to 2 inches of rain.  Sunday should be nicer, with temperatures reaching the upper 60s.  With my first century ride now three weeks away, I need to make some effort to get some miles in.  I want to enjoy the beer party at the end of that ride, not pass by it in an ambulance!

4 thoughts on “There But For The Grace Of God Go I

  1. Good luck with your century. I wouldn’t worry too much. If you can ride forty miles easily, you can ride a hundred. That’s the great thing about cycling. It doesn’t punish you unless you make it.

    • Thanks, Tom. I’m very much looking forward to it. I’ll be riding three centuries this summer/fall of increasing difficulty. This one should be a great first step.

Leave a Reply

