Bike To Work Day

Bike to Work Day is tomorrow and I will once again fail to participate.  Last year, my absence was due to the fact that the 35-mile journey from home was impossibly far for me.  I was looking forward to making the attempt this year, until my daughter’s university announced the date of her commencement.  Clearly, the university is not focused on supporting the cycling culture and brazenly picked a date that would conflict with this all-important event.

Perhaps I’ll hold my personal Bike to Work Day next week.  The distance, numerous twists in bicycle paths, logistics of showering, etc… would be something I’d like to experience at least once.

Stay tuned…

6 thoughts on “Bike To Work Day

    • Part of my report on BTWD (if I ever do it) will be my ruminations on just how easy/difficult it would be for me to commute every day. As always, I have my preconceived notions, but in the interests of fairness I need to try it once so I can speak from a sliver of experience and thus make sweeping judgments.

  1. Although I’m an everyday commuting cyclist, 35 miles (one way?) sounds like a long commute to contemplate. I think you have enough distance riding experience that your preconceived notions are probably accurate. ‘Course you know you’re going to have to try it at least once. It’s inevitable.

  2. I think that every obstacle can be overcome if you put your mind to it. It’s just a matter of organisation. You’re an ex Rupert* organisation is what you do!

    *British Army slang for an officer.

Leave a Reply

