Rough Week

It’s been a rough week.

Ouch

On Monday, I went for a run.  I don’t like running but my wife does and I do like doing things with my wife.  So I ran four miles with her.  This earned me a blister the size of a baby’s hand.  So I didn’t cycle much that day.

On Tuesday, I bought an egg salad sandwich at a restaurant and contracted a truly nasty case of food poisoning.  This gave me an opportunity to closely inspect my toilet but did little to motivate me to ride a bike.

On Wednesday, I felt like I might live to see the weekend, but my blister was very slow in healing.  It was almost impossible to walk.  I began to become concerned that it was infected.  I didn’t cycle on this day, either.

Today, my foot was considerably better.  I could actually walk on it without looking like a war casualty.  Still, I didn’t want to press my luck and I stayed off the bike.

Lesson Learned:  Both running and eggs are bad for you.

I promise to get going again.  Honest.  After all, in ten days I’m going to be in my first timed cycling event, the USAF Crystal Ride.  I don’t think it would be advisable to go into that ride not having pedaled in the previous two weeks!

12 thoughts on “Rough Week

  1. Bloody hell, it never rains but it pours, hope you’re back up and runn… pedalling soon buddy. (if you only knew how silly the word Buddy is to a Limey, you would appreciate the lengths to which I go to cheer up a cyber friend!)

  2. Wow! You’re really racking up the iron man points. I doubt that I’d have the fortitude to keep running until I got a blister that big. My condolences on the food poisoning. That is one of my least favourite things.

Leave a Reply

