“See that big, strong man? He’s not complaining!”

Those were the words which a mother said to her little girl as I ran past them this morning on a cold, icy day.  They are also what vault this otherwise nondescript jog to one of my all-time favorites.  The mother was trying to motivate her daughter, who was none too excited about participating in a walk in the cold.  I was simply an opportunity for her to somehow convince her child that this activity might actually be enjoyable.

That I was able to assist at all shows the level of the lady’s desperation.

Still, it was a great thing to hear as I ran uphill near the end of my run.  It reminds me of the times I have been cheered on by random strangers in various organized cycling and running events.  It’s always fantastic to hear someone cheer you on, even on a crummy  morning jog through the neighborhood.  If you find yourself in a position to lend some moral support to a runner/cyclist, I encourage you to do so.  It will make their day.  If you wish to sound cool to a cyclist, the term to use is, “Allez!”

For those not fluent in French, that’s pronounced, ah-lay.

You may have deduced by now that I stayed off the bike this weekend.  Sadly, there was a small bit of snow Friday night that turned to ice on Saturday and refused to be melted by this morning.  I didn’t wish to contend with patches of black ice, so I opted for a jog instead.  As it was, I still slipped once and almost ended up on my fourth point of contact.  Despite the ice, I managed my one of my fastest times on this four mile route: 34:19.

The temps are supposed to return to the 50s this week, so I should be able to get in a few night rides.  That would be nice as I would hate to ruin my strong start (well, strong for January) to the monthly mileage total.

12 thoughts on ““See that big, strong man? He’s not complaining!”

  1. Congrats on the great time and good work on the balance, too. I wonder what would be worse, the 4th or 5th point of contact? I could imagine some ‘collateral damage’ from the 5th (e.g. face), but I don’t think I’d like to find out either way. Bon Weekend!

    • Technically, the 5th point of contac is the upper back – at least it is to the airborne community. That would not be good, either.

      Neither would the face. In fact, it’s generally unpleasant when you fall on anything. The exact trauma just varies a bit!

    • I definitely feel an ever-increasing burden to live up to the extraordinarily high standards I set for brief periods when passing people. You may recall the lad who thought my cycling clothes were cool. In addition to fashion, I must now excel at performance. As long as I only need to impress children, I should be alright.

  2. I sometimes get unwanted encouragement from kids on their way to and from school. Their comments are not usually aimed at bulling you up, more like” taking the piss”. So I tend to be sceptical of their motives when anyone shouts out anything at you.

    • That’s unfortunate. The good news for me is that almost no American children walk to school. When I come across kids, they are usually under the watchful eye of a parent or guardian.

  3. A style icon and an example for the younger generation! We can only bow down to your magnificence and hope that we can acquire some of your virtue by internet osmosis. Thanks for another entertaining post. I’m with Robin and assume that passing shouts are generally derisory.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I accept this obligation freely and shall do my best to uphold the standards to which you have grown accustomed. As for insults, I have had a few thrown my way as well. The compliments tend to come from people on foot or bicycles. The insults tend to come from people in cars. I can’t imagine why.

  4. Happy New Year – this made me laugh because it’s so sweet that you were used as a shining example of how not to be a wuss. Although you are careful to omit whether this had any effect whatsoever on the little girl! 😉

    And you’re right, it *is* special to be cheered on by random spectators, although embarrassing when it’s a Tour de France crowd and you’re cycling back from the village shop with your picnic comprising a baguette, some cheese and couple of bottles of wine sticking out of the panniers!

    • Unfortunately, I don’t think my effect on the little girl was anything worthy of writing about. And I wouldn’t quibble over how/why a TdF crowd was cheering you. It’s details like that which ruin a perfectly good story!

  5. I know that spurred you on! What an awesome thing to have happen. It is great when strangers encourage you. 🙂 hasn’t happend “THAT” often to me, but I enjoy my rides so that is enough for now. I hope to ride in the NYC Century ride this coming year — so maybe I will find out how it feels. 😀

Leave a Reply

