My Next Bike

Alert reader and regular contributor Brian G. has sent me a link to the most perfect and amazing bike ever invented – for me anyway.

It’s made of steel (which is what I want out of my next bike) and it’s set up for randonneuring (which is what I’m hoping for as well).  This particular model has a custom metallic gold paint scheme which is the bee’s knees.

And its name?  It’s called the There And Back.

The bike is made by the Beloved Bike Corporation out of Portland, Oregon.  They specialize in high-end commuter, touring, and randonneuring bicycles which they will customize to costumer specifications.  They’ll use almost any commercially available RAL paint you can name and will happily provide a listing of recommended components to fit your chosen frame.

This particular frame sells for approximately $2,495.  Fully kitted as depicted in the photo shoot will cost about $6,250.

That’s going to take a very hard swallow and some dedicated penny saving for several months/years.  But man does that look nice – and it has my blog’s name on it!

30 thoughts on “My Next Bike

    • I’ve actually considered doing just that. I’ve wondered just how difficult it would be to paint their standard black frame metallic gold. I’ve wondered how I would gain the skills you have to handle the myriad of small issues attendant to building a bike and choosing the right/best components. I’ve wondered where I could get stickers made…

      But my biggest concern is the same for both bikes: I am very hesitant to buy a bike I have not seen in person, let alone taken on a test ride. When my first glimpse of the bike is when I take it out of the box it was shipped in, the potential for disappointment is very high.

    • I could be like Robert Penn, except I wouldn’t have decades of experience nor have ridden around the world. My various failures while building this machine would no doubt make excellent blog material, assuming that I did not destroy my computer in a fit of rage.

    • I did notice! One of the many things I need to figure out is the proper tire width for a randonneuring bike. Then I need to figure out if the fork will accomodate a fender. And a rack. And how do I put a light on my fender? The list goes on and on!

    • If the exchange rate is now 1:1, I need to get back to England. When I was there, it was closer to 2:1. I ate a lot of bread and cheese in those days.

  1. Could you have some sort of “LOOK AWAY NOW” sign for blogs featuring stuff that looks lovely and costs the earth; otherwise you are just dangling a bunch of grapes out of reach over the head of a starving man.

  2. I guess you’re not the only cyclist referencing Tolkein (Rivendell also comes to mind).
    That is indeed a really lovely one. I love that bike culture has reached the point where there is a demand for locally made quality bikes. But the price! I think if somebody had a real need for a custom frame, it might be worth it. However, I think for most people there are loads of production frames that would do the trick at a fraction of the cost.

    In fact, there are SO many vintage bikes out there that are just as beautiful and could be acquired and set up to your specifications for a very reasonable price. I never miss a chance to sing the virtues of my 1983 Nishiki Continental.

    • Of course, you’re right and there is no good justification for it – just like there isn’t a justification for Lamborghinis, summer homes, hundred year-old scotch, etc… The argument (which I do not wholly support, btw) is you are paying for the craftsmanship of a hand-built frame, created by a master in Portland versus a factory-built frame, created by a laborer in China. I don’t know how long it takes to build and paint a high-end steel frame, but one hopes the money is well placed.

      And thus my hand-wringing continues.

    • I’m just trying to decide if I’m going to go nuts and get something like this or try to be more practical. I’m reminded of a saying I once heard on BBC’s Top Gear TV show: “Once in his life, every man should drive a 12 cylinder automobile.” I suspect this is the cycling corollary.

    • I’m with you. Although they call many of their bikes “commuters,” I would have difficulty leaving a $5000 bicycle outside in the office bike park.

  3. I’m of an age that I too appreciate old school steel. That bike looks the Dogs, fit it with a Brooks Saddle, (my Brooks Swift Ti is also fantastic) and you’ll have a hell of ride!

    Really looking forward to seeing it.

    • Thanks, Clive. Right now, this is more aspirational than anything else. I need to figure out all sorts of issues related to the components then ask myself if I can afford any of it.

  4. I was thinking you might get a nice discount by way of sponsorship for all the publicity you are and would be giving them.. in your blog and on the road !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

