Getting Ready

I’m going to cycle 200 km on my bicycle tomorrow.  There are a few things weighing on my mind:

  • 200 km is a long way to bicycle.
  • I’ll be climbing the South Mountain and Catoctin Mountain ridges a couple of times.
  • I haven’t been on a bike for ten days due to family and work priorities.
  • The forecast is for 20-30 mph winds with a 40% chance of strong thunderstorms.
  • 20,000 people will be gathering in the start city of Frederick for a Tough Mudder race, potentially getting in my way to/from the start/finish.
  • Another 1,000 cyclists will be on the roads for the Baltimore Cycling Club’s Civil War Century.

Should be a breeze!

13 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. These are my stompin’ grounds, and I feel I should add that tomorrow Frederick has its annual In The Street festival, where 7 blocks of Market Street (the main drag in the historic core of Frederick) is blocked off and filled with people. 50,000 of them 🙂

    Love to know where you’re crossing South Mountain. There are a few passes that occasionally thwart my efforts to surmount!

    • Just saw the cue sheet–to my eye, the toughest climb comes at the 12 mile mark–Mountville Road over Catoctin Mt. Never even tried it myself, I just couldn’t do it.

      Many, many beautiful spots along the way, though–including my frequent target, Gathland State Park on South Mountain (it’s the one with the War Correspondent’s Memorial Arch). Good drinking water at the pump by the restrooms.

      Have fun! Be careful–potentially a lot of traffic in some of those areas, especially near the start/finish. But I don’t think the events will impact your ride–you’ll be miles away 🙂

  2. It wouldn’t be you in an event if there weren’t thunderstorms.

    Those winds look like hard work. I hope you get the benefit from them as well as the pain. Just take it 100km at a time and you won’t notice the distance. I am lost in admiration, good luck.

  3. Looks like the same front that came through here Friday evening. If so, make sure your route is all east bound. Then you should do fine and have a wonderful average speed!

Leave a Reply

