Night Issues

Like a future home owner inspecting the property he will soon own, Spring stopped by Northern Virginia yesterday to make sure everything is in order.  Temperatures were in the low 60s with a mild breeze.  After enjoying my 75 minute commute home, I set off to enjoy the evening.

It’s always fun to break out the Spring cycling wardrobe.  Fingerless gloves made an appearance for the first time in many weeks.  I was wearing a cycling vest and boldly left my skull-cap at home.  I brought my camera for some more exciting night photography.

An extremely rare self-portrait at night.  Unfortunately, extended shutter openings mean a little blurring.

An extremely rare self-portrait at night. Unfortunately, extended shutter openings mean a little blurring.

The ride itself was pleasant.  As I rolled over small hills, I passed through different thermal layers.  Cold air was settling into the low ground while the tops of hills remained temperate.  Being warmer at higher altitude is always an odd sensation, even if the “higher altitude” is only 30 or 40 feet.

Anybody can take "shadow pics" during the day.  Here is my first-ever nighttime shadow.

Anybody can take “shadow pics” during the day. Here is my first-ever nighttime shadow.

As always, the night ride had some excitement to it.  I came upon a jogger who was completely oblivious to my existence due to his iPod.  I eventually got his attention by moving my headlamp back and forth across his path.  Later, I threw my chain when I had to quickly stop for a car zipping up on a crossroad, unaware that someone might want to use the crosswalk he was stopping on.  Finally, my camera battery died due to my own failure to keep it charged.  I still managed a couple of pics.  Night photography is definitely “a work in progress” for me.  Thank you for your patience.

This one is so bad it's almost good.  There's a fire station somewhere in the background.

This one is so bad it’s almost good. There’s a fire station somewhere in the background.

Today is supposed to be even warmer than yesterday, at least until some thunderstorms roll in this afternoon.  I expect it to be colder, rainy, and windy by the time I’m ready to roll.  The extended forecast is for Winter to return.  I guess I shouldn’t be too greedy.  One night is better than nothing it all.

10 thoughts on “Night Issues

    • I’m glad that is the appearance it gives, rather than one of a man worried he is going to crash his bike while fooling around with a camera in the dark.

  1. Was incredible to see so many people out in shorts yesterday and today! I *might* have left work a tad early to get in a ride.

Leave a Reply

