49 Miles

49

My birthday came this week.  Cycling tradition dictates that I am to ride my age in miles on my birthday.  Unfortunately, I had to work that day and there are other traditions such as the eating of cake that I was compelled to participate in, so the ride did not occur on the exact date.  However, I was able to manage a 49-mile ride on Saturday.

The weather is trying very hard to be Springlike.  It was very sunny and the breeze was mild.  The temperature started in the 40s and struggled to reach 60.  Later in the day, there was a period of about 90 minutes where I could describe it as being “warm.”  But that was later in the day.  On the ride, full cold weather kit was required.

This farm always has plenty of activity.

This farm always has plenty of activity.

I fiddled with my seat height for no good reason whatsoever.  I raised it about one centimeter in the hopes that it would somehow help my speed or alleviate the sensation I sometimes get that my legs are too cramped.  Within ten miles I began to feel an uncomfortable ache on the side of my left knee.  Fortunately, it didn’t worsen, but I think I’ll be lowering my seat back down.

As always, the excitement came near Catlett, just a few hundred yards from the Tenerife Incident, an excited Spaniel decided to give chase, mustering the most ferocious bark he could.  He maxed out at 15 mph.  I shall add his information to my dog top speed database.

Other than the seat and the dog, it was a pretty uneventful ride.  Car horns were blowing at higher than normal levels.  TIP TO CAR OWNERS:  you don’t need to tap your horn to let us know you’re behind us.  We can hear you.  We’re not the ones encased in glass and steel with a radio playing.

It being the day before Easter, I thought I would share pictures of some of the churches I happened across.  I hope your holiday is a happy one.

The old Asbury United Methodist Church, near Aden.  This building dates from the 1870s.

The old Asbury United Methodist Church, near Aden. This building dates from the 1870s.

And the "new" church across the street.

And the “new” church across the street.

Nokesville Church of the Brethren

Nokesville Church of the Brethren

Brentsville Presbyterian (now a historical site)

Brentsville Presbyterian (now a historical site)

16 thoughts on “49 Miles

  1. Enjoyed the churches. I smiled at the picture of the “new” building across the street. At our home church, the ‘new’ building to me is now the ‘old sanctuary’ to most of the congregation!

  2. Happy Birthday! I am imagining you completing a century ride on your hundredth birthday. It’ll make for a great news story. I’ll make sure my as yet unborn journalist grandchild looks you up on the day.

  3. Happy Birthday mate!
    Spring? We’re currently suffering the coldest Spring on record in Dear Old Blighty. The temp hasn’t risen above freezing for weeks and there’s still snow on the ground…

Leave a Reply

